Unity and Realignment

1856-1859 Free Conferences

- -unconditional subscription to the Augsburg Confession
- -none of the participants were an official delegate

<u>The Augustana Synod</u> (technically called, "The Scandinavian Evangelical Lutheran Augustana Synod of North America")

In 1840s Scandinavians had joined **the Synod of Northern Illinois** formed in 1851, Then in response to the Definite Synodical Platform 1855, they left to form the **Scandinavian Augustana Synod** formed in 1860 June in Jefferson Prairie, WI, Joined LCA (1962)

1860-1870 Norwegian Election Controversy

Faculty members (August Weenaas and Sven Ofterdahl) at Augsburg Theological Seminary (Lutheran Free Church, which later joined the ALC) denied the efficacy of absolution. H.A. Preus, president of the Norwegian Synod, one of the founders of St. Olaf College came up with the fallacious teaching of Objective Justification to attempt to counteract the error.

-Walther's Sermon 1846, "Christ's Resurrection—the World's Absolution."

General Synod considered pseudo-Lutheran by Western Synods (p.253)

- -Pennsylvania Ministerium, originally a member, withdrew then rejoined in 1853.
- -When Frankean Synod joined in 1864, Penn. Ministerium withdrew in 1866.

American Civil War (1861-1865)

1867 General Council

- -By 1860 2/3 of Lutherans belonged to the "conservative" General Council 1863 United Synod of the South formed along the Mason-Dixon line
- -1866 Reading Convention Missouri's first free conference, before the formation of the General Council
- -Represented by thirteen "conservative" (as compared to General Synod) synods
- -Missouri, Ohio, and Iowa weren't quite convinced of the Lutheran doctrinal stance
- -lowa and Ohio later requested a position paper with regard to **four questions**: chiliasm, altar fellowship, pulpit fellowship, and secret/unchurchly societies. Iowa asked of three questions, but not chiliasm (as presently wrestling with it)
- -In 1868 the response "Fundamental Principles" were unsatisfactory
- -In 1869 Wisconsin withdrew, in 1870 Illinois and 1871 Minnesota withdrew
- -In 1872 adopted the Akron Rule, and) reaffirmed as the Galesburg Rule in 1875 "Lutheran pulpits are for Lutheran ministers only, and Lutheran altars are for Lutheran communicants only." Although Krauth's Rule permitted exceptions, it was nonetheless a strong repudiation of the broad ecumenical relationships pursued by the General Synod.

LCMS - Colloquies or conferences

*Synod of the Norwegian Ev. Lutheran Church in America (Norwegian Synod), 1857 Buffalo 1866 (p.283), Iowa 1867 (p.284), *Ohio 1868-1872, *Illinois, Minnesota and adjacent states 1869, *Wisconsin 1869 (at first not friendly, p.264)

The Ev. Lutheran Synodical Conference - 1872

- --response to Definite Platform and the four questions
- --charter members p.260, some left
- --What is Synodical Conference? Agreement in doctrine, see Nelson p.251

It began with Ohio, Illinois, Missouri, Norwegian and Wisconsin Synod ... Iowa joined in 1872 Also Illinois and Minnesota had withdrawn from General Council.

<u>The Norwegian Synod</u> (technically called, "The Norwegian Evangelical Lutheran Church in America") est. 1853, originally Grundtvigianism caused a stir. They joined the Synodical Conference 1872

- -closer ties with Missouri because of a Norwegian Sem. program at Concordia Seminary in St. Louis
- -high view of the ministry and authoritarianism of the Church of Norway

1875 - 3 major federations General Synod, General Council, and Synodical Conference 1878 Wisconsin reopened its own seminary in Milwaukee

The Election/Predestination Controversy - 1880s

1868 J.A. Huegli in June 1868 at a convention of the Northern District spoke of "intuitu fidei" 1871-1873 Gottfried and Sigmund Fritschel (Iowa Synod)

1877 Meeting of the Western District of the Missouri Synod, C.F.W. Walther's presentation

1878 Prof. Asperheim (Norwegian Sem., Madison) responded, F.A. Schmidt (Norwegian Synod) defended Walther

1878 Franz Pieper became systematics professor at Concordia Seminary.

1880 F.A. Schmidt speaks up against Walther and 1877 report in Altes und Neues

1881, May – Missouri officially adopts Walther's Thirteen Theses on the doctrine of Election.

1881 Ohio leaves Synodical Conference in 1881 ... Iowa and Buffalo and

1883 Norwegian Synod leaves (2/3 of Norwegians stayed with Walther)

Ohio would later establish fellowship with lowa(2nd) and form the Amer. Lutheran Church 1930 Wisconsin (and Minnesota) support Walther who rejected intuitu fidei

Franz August Otto Pieper, 4th presi. LCMS 1899-1911, Christian Dogmatics (1917-1924)

1886 United Synod of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in the South

- -General Synod-South, Tennessee Synod, Holston Synod
- -entire book of Concord

1887 Missouri said no to an English mission district, 1890 English Synod formed, 1911 English Synod becomes English District of Missouri

The Norwegian-Danish Synod (est. 1870 formed as a middle ground group)

Subscribed to whole Book of Concord, Ordination approved by the Synod (not congregational)
In 1890 formed "United Norwegian Lutheran Church" (with the Conference and Anti-Missourian Brotherhood-from Norwegian Synod)

1892 The Joint Synod of Wisconsin - Wisconsin, Minnesota, and Michigan, and then Nebraska (1904)

1904, 1905, 1906 Free Conferences -later Buffalo would go into ALC 1913and ALC 1961 (p.279)

1918 Tennessee Synod (part of United Synod of the South)

1912 Norwegian Madison Agreement (approved both teachings of election)

1913 "Conversion and Election: A Pleas for a United Lutheranism" Pieper

1917 400th anniversary on 95 theses